Divorce laws vary from state to state and while all states now have a process for no-fault divorces, it may take substantially longer if you decide to go that route.
Keep reading for more information on no-fault divorces, as well as grounds for divorce in New Jersey.
No-fault divorces require separation time
A no-fault divorce is a term used when a marriage fails, but neither spouse has to take the full blame. This is also called irreconcilable differences and does not leave one person open to liability for the whole divorce.
According to FindLaw experts, no-fault divorce in New Jersey requires a separation period of at least 18 months beforehand. This requires you to live separately and apart from your spouse for a full year and a half before you can file for a divorce. You may feel that this is a long time and would rather get your divorce over with as soon as possible. If this is the case, you may want to see if you have legal grounds for divorce instead.
New Jersey grounds for divorce
In New Jersey, the following elements are grounds for divorce:
- Your spouse had an affair or committed adultery
- Your spouse is abusive or cruel to you
- Your spouse has deserted you for at least a year
- Your spouse has a drug or alcohol addiction
- Your spouse has been in a mental institution for at least two years
In addition to the above, if your spouse is facing at least 18 months of incarceration or commits deviant sexual acts without your approval, these are also grounds for divorce.